Major reshuffle in police: 26 officials of SP rank transferred

The Ministry of Home Affairs yesterday announced a major reshuffle in Bangladesh Police.
In an order signed by Dhananjoy Kumar Das, deputy secretary of Public Security Division, the ministry transferred a total of 26 officials of superintendent ranks.

Of them, nine were posted as deputy commissioners in metropolitan cities.

This major reshuffle came as a surprise to many in the police force, said insiders, seeking anonymity.

SM Rashidul Haque, superintendent of Lalmonirhat police, was ordered to replace Noor-E-Alam Mina of Chattogram, who was transferred as Additional Deputy Inspector General of Dhaka Range.

Two deputy commissioners of Chattogram Metropolitan Police (CMP) — Md Abdul Warish and Harun Or Rashid Hazari — were transferred to Dhaka Metropolitan Police (DMP) and T&IM section in Dhaka respectively.

But the transfer order for these three posts will be affected after the end of Chattogram-8 by-elections, which is scheduled to be held on January 13 next year.

Hasibul Alam, special superintendent (SS) of Special Branch (SB) in Dhaka and AHM Abdur Raqib, deputy commissioner (DC) of DMP, were transferred as SP of Sirajganj and Chapainawabganj respectively.

These two officials were instructed to take briefings from the home ministry on December 24 before joining their duties as they were going to work in district areas for the first time, said officials.

Besides, SP of Khagrachari Mohammad Ahmar Uzzaman was transferred as SP Mymensingh, SP of Munshiganj Mohammad Jayedul Alam as SP Narayanganj, SP of Shariatpur Abdul Momen as SP Munshiganj, Assistant Inspector General (AIG) of Police Headquarter (PHQ) Abdia Sultana as SP Lalmonirhat, SP of Nilphamarai Muhammad Ashraf Hossain as SP Jashore, SS of SB SM Ashrafuzzaman as SP Shariatpur, DC DMP Mukhlesur Rahman as SP Nilphamari, SS SB Jerin Akhter as SP Bandarban and AIG PHQ Abdul Aziz as SP Khagrachhari.

Along with them, SP of Sirajganj Tutul Chakrabarty was transferred as DC DMP, SP Bandarban Jakir Hossain Majumder as DC Barishal Metropolitan Police (BMP), SP T&MI Sarwar Morshed as DC DMP, SP Anti-Terrorism Unit (ATU) Md Walid Hossain as DC DMP, DC BMP Moazzem Hossain Bhuyan as DC DMP, SP of Police Bureau of Investigation Julfiqar Ali Hayder as DC BMP, SP from Mali mission Md Faruq Hossain as SS of SB Dhaka, SP Highway Police Jahangir Hossain as SS of SB Dhaka, DC Rajshahi Metropolitan Police (RMP) Hemayetul Islam as Commander 16-APBn, DC Khulna Metropolitan Police Md Saiful Hoque as DC DMP, SP of Railway police Md Nazrul Islam as DC DMP and SP of Police Staff College Md Al-Mamunul Ansari as SP CID.


Leave a Reply