EC cancels elections in 11 municipalities

The Election Commission has decided not to hold elections in 11 municipalities and add four new to the list following the local government ministry’s suggestion.

Election commissioner Sohul Hossain on Tuesday told after a commission meeting: “Following the decision, elections will now be held in 262 out of 310 municipalities.”

Municipalities of Boda of Panchagar, Baghaichhari of Rangamati, Bagtipara of Natore, Kanchan of Narayanganj and Purbadhala of Netrakona will not be holding elections due to various legal complications and boundary demarcation.

Elections in the municipalities of Rangpur Sadar, Comilla Sadar, Gazipur, Shiddhirganj of Narayanganj will not be held since the process of elevating those into city corporations is still underway.

Despite the ministry’s request, Lohagara of Narail, Kushtia Sadar and Magura Sadar were not removed from the list.

The local government ministry on Dec 2 requested the EC to exempt 15 municipalities from elections.

The list also included Tongi municipality, which the EC said was not scheduled to have any election.

Mirkadam of Munshiganj, Shribardi of Sherpur, Meherpur and Faridpur were added to the list.

The EC declared election schedules on Dec 2. The polls will be staggered for four days from Jan 11.


Leave a Reply