Power Div moves for five more fuel-fired plants

The Power Division has again moved proposals to the Cabinet Purchase Committee, seeking approval for setting up five liquid fuel-fired power plants, officials said. All the plants will be set up in the private sector under a 15-year contract. Those are a 50MW plant at Kamlaghat in Munshiganj, a 50MW plant at Dowlatpur in Nawabganj, a 50MW plant at Fordnagar in Manikganj, a 50MW at Bhairab and a 50MW plant in Satkhira. The five proposals are likely to be placed in the next cabinet purchase body meeting, scheduled for January 29. “The government will purchase electricity from the private firm-sponsored plants for the next 15 years,” said an official.


Leave a Reply